Educational Committee

The Educational Committee was established with the goal of addressing postgraduate education and training in general and to take formal responsibility for the postgraduate training programs running for the members of the Scandinavian Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive care Medicine.

The development of these postgraduate training programs and the establishment of individual courses is supported by the Educational Committee via grants from the ACTA Foundation.

Postgraduate training programs

  • Intensive Care training program (1998 – )
  • Pain (2001 – )
  • Pediatric Anaesthesia training program (2003 – )
  • Critical Emergency Medicine program (2009 – )
  • Obstetric Anaesthesia program (2009 – )
  • Cardiothoracic and Vascular program (2013 – )
  • Perioperative Medicine and Management (2014 – )

The SSAI is proud of these programmes, representing a successful collaboration between the Scandinavian countries.

Individual courses

Airway management courses
Essential initiatives have been taken in order to address the generalists in one of areas, where the literature has shown that improvements were needed. The Scandinavian airway management course was established by the experts in this field, Michael Lagerkrantzer, Stockholm and Michael Seltz Kristensen, Copenhagen. Several of these courses have taken place in Sweden, Denmark, Finland. Most recently Norway has established a national course with the help of a Scandinavian Faculty, which has been supported by the Educational Committee. The success of the first Scandinavian courses has thus given us the possibility of running national courses based on the concept. The course participants are very satisfied with these courses.

Trauma team training facilitator courses
Team training of trauma teams has taken place in many different ways in the Scandinavian Countries. The BEST project in Norway is a nice example of how it can be run in a cost efficient way. A working group has taken the initiative to describe what is being done in our countries and on the basis of this established train the trainers course for this group of facilitators. Courses have been run yearly form 2005. The course participants rate the course very high and according to their self assessment forms skills are improved.

Collaboration with the Clinical Practice Committee
The last couple of years there have been a close collaboration between the Educational Committee and the Clinical Practice Committee. There have been combined meetings and members of the Educational Committee are participating as members in the different working groups.

The African project
Jannicke Mellin-Olsen is working very hard to find support for an African Project, with the purpose of educating local anaesthesiologists. SSAI have supported this work in 2007.

Address List of Educational Committee Members

Annukka Vahtera
Tampere University Hospital
Tampere, Finland
E-mail: vahteraa [at]


PhD Rikke Borre Jacobsen
Department of Anaesthesiology
Copenhagen University Hospital, Rigshospitalet
Copenhagen, Denmark
rikke.vita.borre.jacobsen [at]

Dr. Einar Örn Einarsson
Dept of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care
Landspitali University Hospital, Fossvogi
Reykjavik, Iceland
einaroe [at]

Dr. Conrad Arnfinn Bjørshol
Dept. of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care
Stavanger University Hospital
Stavanger, Norway
conrad.arnfinn.bjorshol [at]

Dr. Bijan Darvish
Dpt of Anesthesiology, Surg Services & Intensive Care Med,
Karolinska University Hospital, Solna
Stockholm, Sweden
bijan.darvish [at]

to top